Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Holy Cross of San Antonio

Main Navigation



Ajax Loading Image


Holy Cross Football

Knights in Action!

The football program at Holy Cross of San Antonio has traditionally been a very successful part of the overall athletic program at our school.  Prior to 1998 Holy Cross was a member of the Texas Christian Interscholastic League.  As a member of the TCIL the Holy Cross Knights won 6 consecutive state football championships from 1992 to 1997 led by head coach Angel Cedillo. 

In 1998 Holy Cross joined the Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools.  Since joining TAPPS the Holy Cross Knights have won or shared the district championship in 10 of their 21 seasons.  In addition the Knights have been to the playoffs 18 of those 21 seasons, advancing to the regional championship 8 times (winning one) and to the state semifinals once.  Over the past 9 seasons 13 student-athletes have signed football letters of intent to play at the college level.. 

The cornerstone of the football program is the "Blue Brother's Code" which football players recite each day.  This code reflects what the priorities are expected to be for every athlete, every day.  It is based on three key principles--faith, selflessness and servant leadership.

Over the past 30 seasons Holy Cross has been a model of stability with only 3 head coaches.  Angel Cedillo (Holy Cross class of 1980) was head coach from 1989 until 2001.  Under Coach Cedillo (who is currently the offensive coordinator) the Holy Cross Knights won 6 consecutive TCIL state championships.  Arnold Martinez (Holy Cross class of 1980) was head coach from 2002 until 2009 and won two district championships during his tenure.  In 2010 Mike Harrison took over as head coach.  Over the past 9 seasons Holy Cross has won 75 games, won or shared 6 districts championships, advanced to the regional championship 7 times and the state semifinals once.





Holy Cross Football Winning Tradition

6 State Championships

1992 TCIL State Champions

1993 TCIL State Champions

1994 TCIL State Champions

1995 TCIL State Champions

1996 TCIL State Champions

1997 TCIL State Champions